The Keatyn Chronicles 2, 3 & 4 – Jillian Dodd

160739931617348416401102

These covers really don’t do this series justice. Also, please note that these “reviews” are more like reactions in this instance, because you really have to read the first book before the other three. Also, there is no “related reading” section, because it remains the same as the first book. Note that the series improves significantly as it goes on. Give it a chance!

Synopsis (book 2)

I’ve always written scripts for my perfect life.
But no way could I have ever scripted this.
My life is so far from perfect, it’s not even funny.
All because of a stalker.

I’m at a boarding school where I have to lie about who I am.
I can’t see my family.
I’m tutoring a Hottie God that tortures me with his smile.
The most popular girl already hates me.
But there’s this boy.
This hot, sweet, sexy boy.
So I’m going to stop trying to script my life and just live it.
Because who knows how long I have left.

**No review. Rating: 4/5

Synopsis (book 3)

I’m not scripting my life anymore.
I’m living it.
I’m done with the God of all Hotties.
I’m going to give my heart to the boy who I think deserves it.
The boy whose kisses are hotter than molten lava.
The boy who offered me the key to his heart.
The boy who asked me to Homecoming in a big, sexy way.

There are so many things to look forward to.
Parties at the Cave. Homecoming festivities. Drama Tryouts. Shopping trips to NY.
But things aren’t always as perfect as they seem.
I find out that my best friend has been keeping a secret from me.
Not that I can blame him.
I have secrets too.
But, for now, I’m going to pretend I’m just a normal girl.
I’m going to pretend he’s not still out there.
I’m going to pretend he’s not getting desperate.
I’m going to pretend I’ll never see him again.
But, I will.
And this time, I might not get away.

Review (book 3)

I still like the That Boy series better. And I still got distracted by some grammar/spelling/punctuation issues. Keatyn and all her classmates seem much too old for high school (a lot of their conversations seemed much more college-appropriate). But at the same time, a lot of their antics were VERY “high school.” It’s conflicting.

But oh my goodness. I have definitely gotten on the Keatyn Chronicles train. I read this book in one sitting. And yes, that does include sneakily reading underneath the dinner table at a restaurant. And the ending! I almost cried while reading the ending, but uh… the restaurant wasn’t really the right place for that.

Also, um, finally?! Keatyn has been really dense this whole time.

Rating: 5/5

Synopsis (book 4)

My mom says that you can’t love someone until you learn to love yourself.
So even though Vincent is getting more and more scary.
Even though he’s doing a nationwide search for me.
I’m going to learn to love myself.

Well, I’m going to try.
Mostly, I want a boy to love me.
But which one?

Dawson – The gorgeous boy who made a mistake, but whose molten lava kisses and steaminess I can’t freaking resist.
or
Aiden – The God of all Hotties, who is practically infused with love potion. Who I thought liked me, but now says he wants to be my friend.
or
Brooklyn – The boy that first stole my heart. Who has always loved me. Well, until the whole cabana incident.

I mean, it was bad enough when there was sort of a love triangle, but now that I’m talking to B again, it’s like I’m in a love rectangle, or a rhombus, or something.

Oh, and did I mention Cooper Steele?
The new soccer coaching, health teaching, tattooed hunk?
Who Garrett sent to school to guard my body.
I mean, be my bodyguard.

But back to loving me.
I should forget about boys and worry about me.
Love me.
Like, eventually.

Review (book 4)

This book killed me.
I am drowning in tears.
My heart is more than broken in half, it’s been destroyed. Annihilated.

Without a doubt, it is the best book of the Keatyn Chronicles thus far. I never thought I would get that invested in the characters, but they’ve grown on me. Keatyn has grown on me. Keatyn has grown herself, which makes me so happy. Many of her personality traits had me so frustrated in the first book.

I loved the little Easter Egg about That Wedding, although I wish it was a little more subtle. I’ve frequently mentioned that the Keatyn Chronicles were great, but nothing compared to the That Boy series. Well, this book (in my opinion) is definitely the best work that Jillian Dodd has ever produced. She’s truly outdone herself. I cried my heart out while reading the That Boy series, but these were never-ending tears. Not just at the end — there were moments all throughout (like in the sandbox).

I wish I could be more specific, but out of respect to the author, I know this review has to be vague. All I can say is, even if the Keatyn Chronicles don’t have you hooked already, persevere and keep reading. This book alone is worth it.

Rating: 5/5

2 thoughts on “The Keatyn Chronicles 2, 3 & 4 – Jillian Dodd

Leave a comment