The Replacement Crush – Lisa Brown Roberts

I think I’m too old for this stuff. There was one glorious, meta moment where Vivian wrote on her book review blog about how much we hate when protagonists are total idiots. Love the self-awareness, but that didn’t mean I enjoyed the rest of the story. And if you were aware of this, Miss Roberts, why was the whole book about a couple not getting together when they SHOULD?

Synopsis

True love can’t be strategized.

After book blogger Vivian Galdi’s longtime crush pretends their secret summer kissing sessions never happened, Vivian creates a list of safe crushes, determined to protect her heart.

But nerd-hot Dallas, the sweet new guy in town, sends the mission and Vivian’s zing meter into chaos. While designing software for the bookstore where Vivian works, Dallas wages a counter-mission.

Operation Replacement Crush is in full effect. And Dallas is determined to take her heart off the shelf.

Review

I think I’m too old for this stuff. There was one glorious, meta moment where Vivian wrote on her book review blog about how much we hate when protagonists are total idiots. Love the self-awareness, but that didn’t mean I enjoyed the rest of the story. And if you were aware of this, Miss Roberts, why was the whole book about a couple not getting together when they SHOULD?

I thought “The Replacement Crush” mission would be cute and fun and realistic. Instead, it was a total waste of time (“book filler”).

I hated everything about Jake, although admittedly, I guess we’re supposed to. The problem was, he didn’t seem like a real person. I can’t imagine anyone, especially a high school student, being such a violent bully. His assault scene escalated insanely. I don’t know what provoked him, or why he’d literally be hiding in the bushes. If he was so angry because Toff made him seem like a rapist to the rest of the surf team, it wouldn’t make any sense for him to then… actually try to turn that into a self-fulfilling prophecy? There just seemed to be some logical inconsistencies there. Also, I’m so mad at where the story ended. Vivian needed to TALK TO HER MOM. I was waiting for that payout, and it didn’t happen. If it wasn’t important enough to get the attention it deserved, then I don’t think it should’ve been tossed into the end of the story at all.

Also, let’s talk about Dallas. I did not understand why he ran so hot and cold! I didn’t like how the only thing that kicked his butt into gear was a horrific altercation between Vivian and Jake. And why did Vivian have to put on such a big production at the end? Is Dallas really that special? I don’t think so.

I’m trying to be sensitive because the author brought up a good point about how they’re real people who read reviews and care what people think. But I really wasn’t a fan of this book.

Related Reading

  • What Happens Now – Jennifer Castle
  • 26 Kisses – Anna Michels
  • Adorkable – Cookie O’Gorman

Rating: 1/5

Leave a Reply

