Kiss Cam – Kiara London

Synopsis

In Kiss Cam, teen author Kiara London asks, what’s a little harmless kissing between friends?

Juniper, Jasper, and Lenny have been friends forever and co-own a vlog channel called WereVloggingHere. Their fans are huge “shippers” who believe that Juniper and Jasper are perfect for each other, and, despite warnings from friends and family, a simple Truth-or-Dare inspired kiss soon spirals out of control into a whole new world of making out and surprise kisses.

Juniper and Jasper’s relationship begins to shift. But as fan requests for different “Kiss Cam” segments keep pouring in, Juniper puts her worries aside and convinces herself that it doesn’t mean anything. After all, it’s just kissing… right?

Review

Oh my goodness, this book was INCREDIBLE. I have a midterm in 4 hours that I have yet to study for, and somehow I was simply unable to put this down.

June, Jasper, and Lenny are a wonderful motley crew. They’re funny, they do crazy stunts, and they know how to pander to the audience. It is definitely based on the Youtube vlogging-sphere (can I get a Zalfie in here?), and I loved everything about it. Allison is great. Alex is great (in the extras!). Elaina, bless her heart. June’s parents — I just want to wrap them up and alleviate the burden of their hard work. Lenny, just wait until you fall in love. I’m still not convinced there wasn’t a Leniper moment in there (when he alluded to using Desperate Housewives and ice cream to get over a girl… well… could he be implying something?). I also 100% backed The 12 Days of Kissmas. What a fun segment!

I could gush about this book forever. Beyond that though, I was stunned to find out a little more about the author afterwards. Kiara London (pen name, but we’re rolling with it) pimped out her Tumblr quite a bit in the backend, so I checked it out. I was surprised to find that it’s a real Tumblr; one that I would expect from my friends or something that would show up on my dashboard. She doesn’t even incessantly post about writerly things there! I mean, I get when people make professional Tumblrs, but I liked how unabashedly REAL this one was. I also thought that older people were more out of touch with Tumblr and other social media, so I did a little more digging… and realized that Kiara London is MY. AGE. She is so talented! What was I doing at her age? …OH RIGHT, I am her age, and definitely don’t have a published book out. Not to mention that it’s a fantastic one, at that!

Upon that realization, a lot of the other stuff made more sense. Kiara London captured the essence of fandoms and a rose-tinted view into the life of vloggers, only possible as someone who’s been in the thick of things first hand. Kiss Cam was such a sweet, fun story. The conflict was my favourite kind, and I was so glad to follow along as “they vlogged here.”

Related Reading

  • Cherry – Lindsey Rosin
  • Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here – Anna Breslaw
  • 26 Kisses – Anna Michels
  • Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell
  • This Song is (Not) For You – Laura Nowlin
  • Watch Me – Lauren Barnholdt

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

