Shuffle, Repeat – Jen Klein

Synopsis

When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

Review

This book is essentially a meta of itself. A key idea is that high school goes by in a blur, but you’ll always take away a few key moments and memories that shape who you are. Likewise, I wouldn’t say that this book is entirely fantastic. But it does have some good moments that I’ll look back on fondly. The first football game. The family dinner. The snow day. The senior prank. The party. Prom.

I also enjoyed the iconic When Harry Met Sally car conversation about men and women and friendship. I feel like this scene was one of the foundations for the entire book. It’s a shame there was no Katz Deli reference!

I felt like Shuffle, Repeat was a little cheesy for a title. Personally, I thinkWhen It Matters would’ve been more appropriate… but that’s such a tiny thing that didn’t detract from the story at all.

As a whole, this book is about growing up and appreciating those last few moments of high school. You don’t quite know what will stick beyond those four years, so it only makes sense to experience as much as possible.

Related Reading

  • When Harry Met Sally (1989)
  • Better Off Friends – Elizabeth Eulberg
  • The Sound of Us – Ashley Poston
  • The Year We Fell Apart – Emily Martin

Rating: 3/5

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s