Morning Star – Pierce Brown

Synopsis

Darrow would have lived in peace, but his enemies brought him war. The Gold overlords demanded his obedience, hanged his wife, and enslaved his people. But Darrow is determined to fight back. Risking everything to transform himself and breach Gold society, Darrow has battled to survive the cutthroat rivalries that breed Society’s mightiest warriors, climbed the ranks, and waited patiently to unleash the revolution that will tear the hierarchy apart from within.

Finally, the time has come.

But devotion to honor and hunger for vengeance run deep on both sides. Darrow and his comrades-in-arms face powerful enemies without scruple or mercy. Among them are some Darrow once considered friends. To win, Darrow will need to inspire those shackled in darkness to break their chains, unmake the world their cruel masters have built, and claim a destiny too long denied – and too glorious to surrender.

Review

Whew, that was a TALE.

I really enjoyed the ending. There was something so lovely and familiar when they got to Earth. Once the dialogue started, I knew exactly what was going to happen… and I couldn’t stop smiling.

I loved Red Rising. It was an epic tale of humongous proportions. Golden Son was good. Morning Star, a little less so. I think I would’ve appreciated the past two books in the series a whole lot more if I read them all immediately, back to back. Yes, all the characters were laid out this time (thank goodness!), but it was a little hard to remember what was going on.

After Golden Son, I wrote in my review — “Finish Cassius off already!” You have no idea how many times I thought that while reading this book as well. Interesting turn of events.

My issue with Morning Star was that it was so drawn out. There were so many intricately described fight scenes. I found myself glazing past those with disinterest. There was so much gore, blood, and death. Death begets death begets death… And something needs to stop the cycle. Break the chains.

I wish we got to spend a little more time in the post-climax world. I understand that it’s so, so hard to talk about a better world. After all, if there was a clean cut solution to that, you’d think we’d be there already. Nevertheless, I was satisfied with the ending. Thanks for taking us through this epic journey, Pierce Brown.

Related Reading

  • Red Rising – Pierce Brown (& Golden Son, naturally)
  • Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins
  • Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card
  • Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

