The Boy Most Likely To – Huntley Fitzpatrick

Synopsis

Surprises abound and sparks ignite in the highly anticipated, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:
– find the liquor cabinet blindfolded
– need a liver transplant
– drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:
– well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this return to the world of My Life Next Door is a story about failing first, trying again, and having to decide whether to risk it all once more.

Review

Amazing, as usual. I was worried that it had been so long since reading The Boy Next Door, that I would be totally befuddled while reading this book. Luckily, Fitzpatrick helped guide the story in a way that made it easy to remember all of these people, places, and plot lines.

I had no idea what this book was REALLY about, so it came as a huge shock. It sprung up on me the way it was sprung up on Tim, with an of course nod. It was a totally plausible circumstance, given the situation. I was really glad that the primary story line was hidden like that, and loved reading where the consequences of some actions went. For most books with this kind of storyline, you get the female perspective. It was really refreshing to see the male perspective, especially from the classic bad boy. I was also really glad with the way that it was resolved, too.

I felt like there were a lot of moving parts among the main characters of this story. There was the relationship between Tim and Alice, Tim and someone else (or rather, two people), Alice and Brody, and a TON of family members. There were worries that tons of people go through (hint: money). Grace Reed still plays an important role in the story. There was a lot of love, and lots of contentedness and good memories. The Nan situation was also a surprise, but one I definitely enjoyed. Even the biggest screw-ups deserve a chance somewhere along the way.

I was kind of annoyed by Tim’s reaction to handouts. I understand that it’s a matter of pride, but I also think people should learn to accept help when it’s offered to them. He kind of deserves that support from his parents. Or from Hester, after all that she put him through. Come on. Learning to accept support is maturity in its own right.

I liked the meetings because they gave hope and showed insight to other people’s struggles. I like how well fleshed-out each character was. I’ve come to adore the Garrett family, and I would love to see Andy or George, all grown up. I would even like it if we revisited Patsy and saw her fall in love with Cal or something. I enjoyed seeing snippets of Jase and Samantha, perfect as ever.

This book left me feeling warm and fuzzy. It definitely was NOT an easy journey, but it was definitely a rewarding one.

Related Reading

  • How to Love – Katie Cotugno
  • Trouble – Non Pratt
  • Cherry Money Baby – John M. Cusick
  • My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick
  • Cheaper by the Dozen 2 (2005)

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

