P.S. I Still Love You – Jenny Han

Synopsis

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

Review

P.S. I STILL LOVE THIS STORY. It’s been a while since I last read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, but it picked right up.

Lara Jean is wistful, thoughtful, and so young at heart. It was so refreshing to read about someone who hasn’t yet been jaded by life, who still hopes for the best, and loves fiercely. There were still those perfect moments of invincibility (I’m thinking of a certain moment in a red convertible, shouting into the breeze, with a sunset… although I don’t know if the sunset was actually written in, or just in MY MIND). It’s a little bittersweet because some of the best moments were with “the wrong guy” (THE SNOW!)… but I really loved both Peter and John. I saw it going either way, which is quite a feat since the first book was all about a certain guy. But as we wound down to the last few chapters, I braced myself for the inevitable. Someday, I hope they’ll get to try again.

It kinda crushed me to see them go through hard times. I hated all the hot tub drama and jealous bouts and mindgames among former best friends. I hated that it wasn’t the right time at 13 or 16, because the two of them were such a dream together. But they weren’t meant to be, at least not now. And of course, I just wanted Lara Jean and Peter Kavinsky to finally be happy!

I’m glad that we got to see how relationships change over time. The Josh bit was handled so realistically. Same with Genevieve (and I’m glad we finally got some closure there!). People move on, and things aren’t the same again. And we finally got some of the gaping holes addressed between Lara Jean and Peter… the underlying stuff that made their relationship shaky in the first place.

Lara Jean is so young and naive, but I truly want the best for her. I want all of them to enjoy themselves. This story ends leaving us with that sense of hope in the real world. What else can we ask for?

Related Reading

  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han
  • Never Have I Ever – Katie Heaney
  • The Fill-In Boyfriend – Kasie West

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

