99 Days – Katie Cotugno

 

Synopsis

22836575Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

Review

Oh no, oh no, oh no. Everything that happened here was like a trainwreck waiting to happen, except the whole time we get to experience a lovely ride on the train with the warm summer sun.

I love Gabe. I love Patrick. For all her faults, I even love Molly. I love their whole motley crew. From Imogen to Tess to Handsome Jay to trust-fund Ryan to seriously everyone else. Everything about this story is painful. My heart goes out to Molly. As for Patrick and Gabe, I don’t even know who I love more. They’re just so DIFFERENT, and it sucks that a girl had to get between them. It sucks that they’ve never been THAT close. Gabe is so fun with his easy smiles and full-name-calling wiles, and Patrick is all smolder and deep thought. I think I always rooted for Molly and Gabe, but I couldn’t deny the connection between Molly and Patrick. I felt so, so unsure, and at any moment, I thought Cotugno was leading us towards a different conclusion.

I’d been waiting to read this one for a long time. How to Love ripped me apart. This one, not so much. I felt the impending dread. I felt the highest of highs, the best of times. And I felt the guilt deep in my bones. I’m really glad that we got to see Molly’s perspective. A lot of times, society vilifies this type of behaviour. But sometimes it’s not so easy, I guess. There were so many messed up things with this situation, and I get how hurting each other this much can feel like the end of the world in a little hometown. I’m glad that someone like Roisin was added to the picture. I’m glad that she mentioned there’s so much more past the drama of their little hometown, and I have a feeling Molly will do just fine in university and beyond. I would really, really love to check on her (and the boys, and probably every other side character if at all possible) a few years down the road. I wish SHE got to see herself at that point, a time where everything would finally be okay. She doesn’t deserve it, but I definitely want the best for her.

Related Reading

  • 17 First Kisses – Rachael Allen
  • Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson
  • The Summer I turned Pretty – Jenny Han
  • The Boys Next Door – Jennifer Echols
  • The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson
  • Life By Committee – Corey Ann Haydu

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

