All the Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

Synopsis

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Includes a PDF Help Line Resource Guide and a Note Read by the Author.

Review

I know that comparing this book to TFIOS and E&P help with the commercialization of it, but really, this book does not evoke the same feelings at all.

This one took me forever to plod through. It was so freaking tragic.

I found it a little hard to get into because Finch and Violet get intense very quickly. One moment they were strangers, and the next they were sharing moments with Dr. Seuss? Huh???

I feel like we didn’t get a strong understanding of most of the characters. They had SOME nuance, but not regarding anything important. Amanda Monk is the anomaly here.

It was tough to read a lot of their thoughts, especially Finch’s. That was the point though, and I’m glad that the book didn’t try to sugarcoat anything. Going in, you kind of have to know what’s happening and what is GOING to happen. Time is ticking, right there on the page. You know the great moments can’t last, and that anticipation makes it hard to appreciate them.

Super quirky, kinda gritty, and thoughtful. Be careful, because this book may make you feel like you are drowning.

Related Reading

  • Paper Towns – John Green
  • Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock – Matthew Quick
  • The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson
  • Breakfast Served Anytime – Sarah Combs

Rating: 4/5

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s