Roomies – Lindy Zart

Synopsis

Graham Malone is my roommate, my personal eye candy, the reason I get up in the morning smiling (that could be from the illicit dreams I have about him too, I suppose. Let’s move on.). He’s also beautiful to look at, but his heart is where his true beauty lies. Take away the exterior and the interior still shines.

I love him. I mean, I’m pretty sure I do, having never been in love before. Anyway, it seems legit.

And now his brother Blake is here, and, well, he’s the complete opposite of Graham. Sarcastic, brooding, and totally available. But he’s leaving soon, and Graham’s the one I want. I shouldn’t have to remind myself of this, right? I wouldn’t have to if Blake would quit looking at me like I’m something yummy and he’s starving.

Here’s a toast to roomies; the ones you should never fall in love with. Or something.

Review

I’m not sure how much I like this book. It’s really sweet and cute. It is sometimes bizarrely hilarious. And I am such a fan of Graham and Kennedy together (Grennedy!).

But I also have some reservations. The book is too quirky to handle. Kennedy is rambly. People don’t tell each other how they feel, so they try to intentionally hurt each other. The character growth is rather flat. And some of the main characters have a tendency to go off on long cheesy monologues about “important things.” No thanks, I can pass on that. I’d much rather have implicit lessons rather than characters who spew forth epiphanies.

The ending is kind of rushed. It’s hard to understand some of the characters’ motives at times.

I liked the book, but I didn’t LOVE it. It’s fun, witty, and snappy, but nothing particularly memorable (or anything to write home about).

Related Reading

  • New Girl (TV series)
  • Never Have I Ever – Katie Heaney
  • Firecracker – David Iserson
  • The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

