All Fall Down – Ally Carter

Synopsis

A new series of global proportions — from master of intrigue, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Ally Carter.

This exciting new series from NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Ally Carter focuses on Grace, who can best be described as a daredevil, an Army brat, and a rebel. She is also the only granddaughter of perhaps the most powerful ambassador in the world, and Grace has spent every summer of her childhood running across the roofs of Embassy Row.

Now, at age sixteen, she’s come back to stay–in order to solve the mystery of her mother’s death. In the process, she uncovers an international conspiracy of unsettling proportions, and must choose her friends and watch her foes carefully if she and the world are to be saved.

Review

ALLY CARTER, HOW CAN YOU DO THIS TO ME? The ending is too much for me to handle. And the next book doesn’t even have a release date set out.

Let’s back up here. For the majority of the book, I was kind of confused. I felt like Ally was taking the “easy way out,” since the characters are so similar to the Gallagher Girls. And grappling with Grace’s mental confusion was just like Cammie in Out of Sight, Out of Time. The mystery and confusion was unbearable. But the pieces started falling into place by the end. It started clearing up. I UNDERSTOOD. Also, I was really surprised. In a lot of other books like these, the “big reveal” is expected. But not here. Every time people’s roles changed, I believed it. And by the end, the roles kept changing really fast!!

This book did a lot of build up and not much payout. I know that makes the payout so much better in the later books, but there isn’t even an INKLING of an idea when the later books are coming. Throw us a bone here! That being said, I am a LOT more excited about what’s to come. I assumed this book would be more contemporary—something political or like House of Cards. This is definitely leaning more towards the realm of espionage, conspiracies, and crazy plots, but I am totally okay with that.

Is Megan a sideline Gallagher Girl? I feel like one of those books alluded to the events happening here, but I don’t quite remember since it wasn’t important to that story. If so, bravo to Ally Carter. That’s sneaky. That’s some good planning (or maybe a story developed out of a minor detail). In either case, I ended up liking it. At first, I thought the similarities were just a product of laziness or lack of skill (like, maybe that’s all the author knows HOW to write?). But I don’t think so anymore. Also, shoutout to Noah and Alexei—I love you both already!!

I have a feeling this series will end up way differently. And I am giddy to find out what happens next.

Related Reading

  • Out of Sight, Out of Time – Ally Carter
  • Any other Ally Carter book
  • Boy Nobody (The Unknown Assassin #1) – Allen Zadoff
  • The Naturals – Jennifer Lynn Barnes
  • The Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick (mental illness!)

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

