Southern Perfection – Casey Peeler

Synopsis

Life is full of choices: good, bad, and ones you can’t control.

Raegan strives to be perfect in every way. Varsity cheerleader, honor student, and proud granddaughter of Dover Lowery. By day, Raegan is an over-achieving high school student, but at three o’clock, her real work begins.

What happens when appearances are not what they seem? Will Raegan be able to hold on to her life as she knows it, or will she be left all alone?

All of these questions are answered with one night, one song, one story, and one boy.

Review

Oh man, what am I going to do about you, book? It was a little hard to follow because the justified text got screwed up on my ARC, but I learned to ignore it for the most part. I liked the beginning with its southern charm, and I liked the end with its heartfelt words. But the middle was lacking some… finesse, and the storyline was nothing to write home about. I will say that this kind of story isn’t really my cup of tea (think Nicholas Sparks, maybe?), so there’s no harm in giving it a fair shot if you find it intriguing.

I had an issue with the characters. Reagan was just so self-centred. I was okay with that at the beginning, but I was hoping to see some growth! She was really selfish about what she WANTED and NEEDED. She set different standards for her behaviour versus the behaviour of others, and I have to say that she was SUPER lucky that people were willing to put up with her. What sickened me was at the end—there was a line about “the guy who took care of his Sunshine” or something like that. After all that Grandaddy had done in his life, all the things he’d done and people he’d cared for, is that all that matters? The whole book revolved around the “sun” (hah!), but Reagan didn’t have many redeeming qualities. She was also way too sensitive and emotional. I understand that some put their hearts on their sleeves, but she seemed to get triggered in a snap. She was still crying and torn up about events that happened at five years old… buddy, she might be a lot better off with some therapy in her life. My issue was that Reagan was so melodramatic and angsty.

As for Emmett, he was all TOO MUCH TOO FAST TOO SOON. I couldn’t help but wonder, what if Reagan DIDN’T reciprocate his feelings? Then everything he said wouldn’t be sweet, it would be creepy and stalkerish. I’ve never been a fan of insta-love, especially such a “fairytale-forever” one. Lay off on the cheese, please!

Most of the other characters were pretty flat, aside from Granddaddy. Man, he is definitely a cool dude. One of the redeeming qualities of the book, for sure! Also, I had to smile at the little Jillian Dodd reference. It’s always cool when authors give a nod to other authors!

Related reading

  • Anything by Nicholas Sparks
  • Second Chance Summer – Morgan Matson
  • I’ll Be There – Holly Goldberg Sloan

Rating: 2/5

**Thank you to Casey Peeler for contacting me about her book. I received a copy for free in exchange for an honest review. Southern Perfection is available now.**

 

Leave a Reply

