The Sky is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Review

Oh, I wasn’t much a fan of this one. I couldn’t connect with Lennie. The fabulous Joe Fontaine was indeed fabulous, but Toby grossed me out. I understand that grief does weird things to people, but that doesn’t give people a free pass for everything.

Jandy Nelson is a wonderful writer. Her words are descriptive and understated. However, a lot of this book was written in melodramatic verses. I don’t have anything against poetry, but here it seemed too forced and out of place. I wanted to see the relationship build up more between Lennie and Joe! I wanted a greater emotional connection established between the reader and Lennie! Starting out, Lennie didn’t really let ANYONE in… not even the reader.

There was a bit with Lennie and her grandma talking about how self-centred Lennie had been since Bailey’s death. That resonated with me, although not much else did.

Related Reading

  • Where the Stars Still Shine – Trish Doller
  • I’ll Give You The Sun – Jandy Nelson
  • 20 Boy Summer – Sarah Ockler
  • Life By Committee – Corey Ann Haydu

Rating: 3/5

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s