I’ll Give You The Sun – Jandy Nelson

Synopsis

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Review

So, so BEAUTIFUL. I read the majority of this book while sitting in a busy train, and I COULDN’T STOP UGLY-CRYING. Other people stared at me strangely. But I had to keep reading! I had to understand what went wrong! I don’t think I’ve ever reacted to a novel experience so viscerally before. Even on the outset, I had this heavy, achy feeling in my heart because I felt SO MUCH for the characters. In the early years, I was all about supporting Noah. I hoped to get his perspective in the present, but Jude did a pretty amazing job at a.) redeeming herself, b.) taking on challenges, c.) becoming her own person.

Reading everything fall apart so spectacularly was compounded by the ability to look at the aftermath a few years later. I was so irritated at the end of each section, because I didn’t want to leave the “present” and character that I was so engrossed (and emotionally invested) in. But magically, after a few pages, I started to love the new perspective even more (WITHOUT. FAIL.). If you prescribe to the “Six Degrees of Separation” idea, you’d nod your head to the foreshadowing and incredible relational bonds between people.

This book is about family. It is about love. It is about self-discovery (your fate is NOT written in stone). It talks about everything and achieves that goal to a surprisingly high degree of success. In a way, it’s the opposite of that Hilary Duff song (I’m Chasing the Sun). More than finding your own place and your own happiness, give someone all the power over you (shining on you like a star). It’s the ultimate (metaphorical) sacrifice for everyone else to do supremely well.

I never read The Sky is Everywhere or anything by Jandy Nelson, but that is soon going to change (without a doubt!).

Related Reading

  • The Fault In Our Stars – John Green
  • Will Grayson, Will Grayson – John Green & David Levithan
  • The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – Ann Brashares
  • The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt
  • Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock

Rating: 5/5 

Leave a Reply

